Q. Why do I receive “Site in Maintenance Mode” after an upgrade?

After trying to update your plugins/themes, you may find this message on your website.

The default WordPress maintenance mode

This is because WordPress has inserted a .maintenance  file into your root folder. To get rid of the message simply delete the file:

the maintenance file in the WordPress root folder